ACHS Council

ACHS Councillors - As at 27 August 2020

Awaiting nominations from the ACT Health, the Australasian Association for Quality in Health Care (AAQHC), and Queensland Health.


Representing Organisation

Prof Leonard Notaras AM (President)

Department of Health, Northern Territory

Professor Geoff Dobb

Australian Medical Association

Professor Brett Emmerson AM

The Royal Australasian College of Medical Administrators

Clin. A/Prof Roger Garsia

The Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia

Ms Claire Hewat

Allied Health Professions Australia Ltd

Dr Michael Hodgson AM

Life Member

Dr David Hutton

NSW Ministry of Health

A/Prof Gregory Jenkins

Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists

Mr Mark Kearin

Australian Nursing & Midwifery Federation

Clin. A/Prof Peter Kendall

The Royal Australasian College of Physicians

Mr Tony Lawson

Consumers Health Forum of Australia

Adj. A/Prof Karen Linegar

The Australian College of Nursing

Ms Angela Magarry

Australasian College of Health Service Management

Dr Sally McCarthy

The Australasian College of Emergency Medicine

Mr Russell McGowan

Health Care Consumers' Association Inc

Dr Jon Mulligan

Life Member

Ms Samantha Sanders

Day Hospitals Australia

Dr Grant Sara

The Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists

Dr Paul Scown

Australian Healthcare and Hospitals Association

Dr Jo Sutherland

Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists

Dr Phillip Truskett

The Royal Australasian College of Surgeons

 Mr Stephen Walker

Australian Private Hospitals Association

Dr Noela Whitby AM

The Royal Australian College of General Practitioners



Last Review Date 03 March 2021

I have been involved with Accreditation and the ACHS for 19 years and have found them to be a leading accrediting agency, if not the best for health care organisations.

ACHS member response to survey