Honours and Awards

ACHS Medal

The Australian Council on Healthcare Standards (ACHS) Gold Medal was inaugurated in 1984. It is the organisation's highest award and recognises an outstanding contribution by an individual to improving quality and safety in Australian health services.

To view past recipients of the ACHS Medal click here

ACHS International Medal

For the first time in 2014, during its 40th anniversary year, ACHSI offered to award the ACHS International Medal to someone working overseas and furthering the mission of ACHSI.

The winner of the 2014 inaugural ACHS International Medal was Dr Lawrence Lai, from Hong Kong.


ACHS Quality Improvement Awards

The Quality Improvement (QI) Awards were launched by ACHS in 1996 and have been supported by Baxter Healthcare since 1998.

Open to all EQuIP member organisations, the QI Awards are an annual recognition of achievement and encouragement for quality improvement activities, programs or strategies that have been implemented into healthcare organisations.

The judging of the QI Awards is conducted externally during August, with separate panels for each of the three categories, made up of an ACHS Councillor, an ACHS Surveyor and a representative from an EQuIP member organisation.

The winners will be announced at the ACHS / ACHSM Joint Congress to be held in Melbourne on Thursday October 29, 2015.

Further information regarding the QI Awards may be obtained by contacting the Development Unit, ACHS, +61 2 9281 9955 or email, qi.award@achs.org.au.


Submissions from the 2014 Quality Awards, including the winning entries are published in Quality Initiatives, Entries in the 17th Annual ACHS Quality Improvement Awards click here



Last Review Date 12 January 2018

Thanks. The course has strengthened my understanding of the importance of quality systems, consumer engagement and the diagnostic phase of project improvement.

Trish Roberts
- Australian Red Cross Blood Service, SA