ACHS Medal

ACHS Medal


The Australian Council on Healthcare Standards (ACHS) Medal was inaugurated in 1984 and is the organisation's highest award. It recognises an individual for outstanding contribution to improving quality and safety in Australian health services in a manner consistent with the mission and values of the Australian Council on Healthcare Standards.

Nominations are now open

The ACHS Medal 2021 is now open to nominations. Every entry is required to fill in the nomination form, and state which of the criteria the nominee is being nominated for.

Nominations close at COB Friday 10 September, 2021.

An announcement of the winner will be made at the ACHS Annual Dinner to be held in late November 2021.

Click here to download the nomination form

Inspiring excellence in healthcare

Our mission is to provide a partnership approach to continuous improvement tailored to the needs of individual services and health systems using its expertise in standards, accreditation, education and training.

Our values are:  Working together, Accountability, Commitment, Adaptability, Responsiveness and Excellence.

ACHS Medal 2020

The Australian Council on Healthcare Standards (ACHS) awarded its prestigious ACHS Medal 2020 to Professor Brendan Murphy, Secretary of the Australian Government Department of Health in Canberra, in late November 2020. Click here for more infomation about ACHS Medallists.

Further information

Please contact Ian McManus, Communications Manager, ACHS, on (02) 8218 2743 or email at:

Last Review Date 03 June 2021

I have been involved with Accreditation and the ACHS for 19 years and have found them to be a leading accrediting agency, if not the best for health care organisations.

ACHS member response to survey