Congratulations to the 2018 winners of the ACHS Prizes for the annual University of Newcastle Students Awards

Each year ACHS awards a prize to the University of Newcastle’sYear Medical Student’s Joint Program, for the best Safety and Quality Projects.  This year’s winners were Edward Brentnall, Jessica Redmond, Elena Luo, Dylan Rajaratnam and Bryony Beal who won for their Quality in Health Care Project titled – “The Appropriateness of Imaging for Low Back Pain in the Emergency Department – an audit”.


In the usual tradition of the Awards, there was a strong contingent of Highly Commended prizes awarded.

The first group to be awarded a ‘Highly Commended’ for their project was (from left to right): Professor Brian Kelly (Dean JMP), Rohil Patel, Ankit Ajmera, Christine Wu, Sam Walters and Anchal Agarwal for their Quality in Health Care Project titled –“Correct Documentation of Adverse Drug Reactions on Paper Based Systems in Hospital Inpatients”


The second ACHS ‘Highly Commended’ was awarded to (from left to right)): Professor Brian Kelly (Dean JMP), Lachlan Jackson, Grace Cousins, Finn Walsh and Krishnan Maheepala (Amelia Spitty was not present) for their Quality in Health Care Project titled –“CT Perfusion Scanning and the impact on patients and emergency management of Acute Ischaemic Stroke”


And the third ‘Highly Commended” awarded was (from left to right) : Professor Brian Kelly (Dean JMP), Sara Rostom, Henry Davies, Thomas Wright, Keira Barnard and Patrick Felton for their Quality in Health Care Project titled – “Improving CTPA Use for PE Diagnosis, John Hunter Hospital, NSW – Incorporating a single-centre, retrospective audit of CT pulmonary angiograms for the diagnosis of pulmonary embolism”.


Last Review Date 20 December 2018

I've always had great ideas but never knew how to get started and how to get there. Now I've got some tools, thank you.

Dr Yolande Weiner
- Logan Hospital, Metro South, QLD