EQuIP6 Overview

EQuIP6 focuses on the issues considered to be of the greatest importance in providing safe, high quality health care. The standards have been developed in consultation with the healthcare industry both nationally and internationally, and address the Clinical, Support and Corporate Functions of the organisation.

The EQuIP6 standards and criteria express goals that are common to different types of services. This means that although the evidence presented by different healthcare organisations for a criterion may vary, consideration of evidence can be made in the context of organisational structure, geography, consumer / patient type and services.

EQuIP6 is structured in a hierarchy, as follows:

  • functions
  • standards
  • criteria
  • elements
  • guidelines.


A function is a group of standards.


The standard describes the overall goal; for example Standard 1.1, Consumers / patients are provided with high quality care throughout the care delivery process.


The criteria describe key components of the goal, which are necessary for meeting the goal; for example Criterion 1.1.1, Assessment ensures current and ongoing needs of the consumer / patient are identified.


For each criterion, there is a series of elements which:

  • explains the criteria
  • describes some important practices for each level of achievement
  • should not limit practices; organisations are encouraged to undertake and present additional activities that respond to the criterion statement
  • should be regarded as a framework for total quality rather than a checklist of compliance
  • provides direction for improvement activities and for achieving better practice.

Each element identifies what should be in place to at least fulfil the requirements of the criterion at a certain rating level.

The EQuIP6 program contains 16 mandatory criteria to ensure the quality of care and safety for consumers/patients and those within the organisation.

The arrangement of the standards and criteria into the three functions of Clinical, Support and Corporate identifies the fundamental responsibilities of the key provider groups within a health service.

  • The Clinical Function sets out the standards that are predominantly associated with clinical care. Achievement of these standards is largely the responsibility of clinicians.
  • The Support Function contains standards and criteria in which quality improvement requires clinical and corporate staff to work together, sometimes with assistance from internal ‘support staff’ or external consultants.
  • The Corporate Function identifies those standards and criteria for which the governing body of the organisation is predominately responsible.

Members of the EQuIP6 program benefit from:

  • Support from a dedicated ACHS Customer Services Manager to assist throughout the EQuIP6 four-year membership program
  • Access to the ACHS Clinical Indicator Program
  • Access to a range of web-based resources and organisation-specific service guidelines
  • Access to the specially-developed online Electronic Reporting Tool (EAT)
  • Access to the online Performance Indicator Reporting Tool (PIRT)
  • Discounts on ACHS education and member support workshops
  • Access to the restricted Members' area on the ACHS website.

Last Review Date 12 January 2018

We have developed a very good working relationship with ACHS and the team on the whole are very engaged and responsive to our requirements.

ACHS member response to survey