The National Standards for Mental Health Services (NSMHS)

The ACHS review process for Mental Health Services

ACHS provides assessment services for the National Standards for Mental Health Services (NSMHS) 2010, offering health services two assessment models from which to choose:

1. Integrated Assessment

ACHS offers an integrated assessment to those health services that are accredited under EQuIP 6, EQuIPNational or the National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards.  Under this assessment model the mapped NSMHS criteria are reviewed under the corresponding action/criteria of EQuIP or NSQHS Standards with only the unmapped NSMHS criteria requiring additional review.

2. Standalone Assessment

ACHS offers a standalone assessment for those health services that prefer an in-depth review of the NSMHS or are not accredited under EQuIP 6 or NSQHS Standards 2nd Edition.

Certificate of Recognition

The assessment team will make a recommendation that the mental health service receives a Certificate of Recognition if they consider that the NSMHS have been satisfactorily incorporated into everyday service delivery and all criteria are rated Met.


For more information, including survey requirements, contact your ACHS Customer Services Manager or telephone ACHS on 02 9281 9955.

Last Review Date 26 July 2019

Always approachable and have high quality surveyors.

ACHS member response to survey