QI Awards

Congratulations to our 2022 Winners
Each submission demonstrated a strong commitment to supporting and developing innovation in different areas of healthcare that impacts on patient safety. The 2022 Winners were announced at the ACHS Annual Awards Ceremony in late November. Please see below all winners and their submissions.

Category | Clinical Excellence and Patient Safety

Hunter New England Local Health District, NSW

Supportive Care: what matters most? 

Wandi Nerida, QLD
Wandi Nerida: A new residential model of care to treat eating disorders in Australia

Category | Non-clinical Service Delivery

Gold Coast Hospital and Health Service, QLD
Embedding a culture of transformation at Gold Coast Health

Category | Healthcare Measurement

Hunter New England Local Health District, NSW
Virtual Clinical Pharmacy Service Project


The ACHS Quality Improvement (QI) Awards acknowledge healthcare organisations that achieve excellence and innovation in clinical care, organisation-wide practice, service delivery and performance measurement. The QI Awards provide an opportunity to share patient-focused innovation and communicate their quality improvement achievements to the healthcare industry.

Introduced in 1998, the QI Awards acknowledge and encourage outstanding quality improvement activities, programs or strategies that have been.

The Awards are open to submissions from all ACHS member organisations undertaking the ACHS NSQHS (National Safety and Quality Health Service) Standards Program, EQuIP6 (Evaluation and Quality Improvement Program) and the ACHS Clinical Indicator Program.

Judging is conducted externally with separate panels of three judges for each of the QI Awards categories:

  • Clinical Excellence and Patient Safety
  • Non-Clinical Service Delivery
  • Healthcare Measurement

Each judging panel consists of an ACHS Councillor, an ACHS assessor and a representative from an ACHS member organisation.

Previous Winners

Information on past QI Awards winners, highly commended and all other submissions can be found by clicking on the links below to the Quality Initiatives publication.

Quality Initiatives - 25th Annual Quality Improvement Award 2022

Quality Initiatives - 24th Annual Quality Improvement Award 2021

Quality Initiatives - 23rd Annual Quality Improvement Awards 2020

Quality Initiatives - 22nd Annual Quality Improvement Awards 2019

Quality Initiatives - 21st Annual Quality Improvement Awards 2018

For further information on the QI Awards, please email the ACHS Standards and Product Development Team SPD@achs.org.au or phone +61 (0)2 8218 2734.