Accreditation and Standards

At ACHS, our purpose is to improve and maintain the standard of healthcare in Australia. We do this by accrediting organisations according to government standards, as well as our own established standards. We also provide healthcare consulting services that offer quality improvement guidance to help organisations work towards, and reach, relevant standards.

What is accreditation?

Accreditation is public recognition by a health care accreditation body of the achievement of accreditation standards by a health care organisation, demonstrated through an independent external peer assessment of that organisation's level of performance in relation to the standards.

NSQHS Standards

Since 2013, we have been authorised to accredit healthcare organisations according to the standards set by the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care  (ACSQHC). These standards, referred to as the National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards, help protect the public from harm, and improve the quality of health care in Australia. ACHS is proud to be the country’s primary accreditor of these standards.

Find out more

EQuIP Accreditation

We have been setting and maintaining our own standards since 1974. Today, in addition to accrediting government standards, our Evaluation and Quality Improvement program (EQuIP) provides optional accreditation for organisations not required to meet the NSQHS Standards. The EQuIP program involves self-assessment, an organisation-wide assessment, and periodic review to ensure a healthcare provider is meeting necessary standards. Once accredited, the provider is assessed every four years.

Find out more

Rainbow Tick Accreditation Program

The Rainbow Tick Accreditation Program is for all organisations seeking to provide a safe and inclusive workplace and services for the LGBTIQ community.

This program reassures your LGBTIQ consumers and staff that your organisation is aware, responsive and understanding of their needs.

Find out more

National Safety and Quality Digital Mental Health Standards

The National Safety and Quality Digital Mental Health (NSQDMH) Standards aim to improve the quality of digital mental health service provision, and to protect service users and their support people from harm.

Find out more

Accreditation for General Practices

Since 2017, we have been authorised to accredit General Practices under the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP)’s Standards for General Practices. Organisations seeking this accreditation must undertake a three-year program, and accreditation is officially awarded once all program criteria have been met.

Find out more

National Clinical Trials Governance Framework

The Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care, on behalf of all jurisdictions, developed the National Clinical Trials Governance Framework as the first step towards a nationally consistent approach to the accreditation of health services for the conduct of clinical trials.

Find out more

NSMHS Program

The National Standards for Mental Health Services (NSMHS) program is designed for healthcare organisations with a specific focus on mental health. We offer both an integrated and a stand-alone assessment model, and a certificate of recognition will be provided once all requirements have been met.

Find out more

Human Services (HS) Standards (VIC only)

ACHS is an authorised Independent Review Body (IRB) with the Victorian Department of Families, Fairness and Housing (DFFH). DFFH has endorsed ACHS to review department-funded organisations against these Standards.

Find out more

Ready to take the next step?

If you’re interested in finding out more about ACHS or our accreditation programs and membership, you can: