Primary and Community Healthcare Standards

ACHS is approved by ACSQHC (the Commission) to assess healthcare organisations to the National Safety and Quality Primary and Community Healthcare (NSQPCH) Standards.

The Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Healthcare (the Commission) launched the Primary and Community Healthcare Standards in October 2021. The Standards were developed in consultation with consumers, healthcare providers and services, professional and peak bodies, and Primary Health Networks. They are designed to give the community confidence that they are accessing safe, high-quality healthcare services in a primary and community setting.

Defining a Primary & Community Healthcare Service

The Standards apply to services that deliver health care to people in a primary and/or community setting, usually close to where they live and work. Examples include:

  • General Practice
  • Dentistry
  • Aged Care
  • Allied Health
  • Counselling
  • Multicultural Services
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Ophthalmology
  • Pharmacy
  • Physiotherapy
  • Psychology
  • Podiatry
  • Speech Pathology

Three NSQPCH Standards

There are three Primary and Community Healthcare Standards that cover:
  1. Clinical governance
  2. Partnering with Consumers
  3. Clinical safety.
Achieving NSQPCH Accreditation

There are four distinct models of assessment available for healthcare services seeking accreditation to the Standards. These reflect the varying levels of readiness and engagement with the Standards across the sector. In most instances, a healthcare service may choose what model of assessment they undertake, depending on their level of readiness or Regulator requirement. Unsure which model is suitable for your organisation? Contact our friendly team here

ACHS is Australia’s most experienced healthcare accreditation service. If your health service organisation provides primary and community healthcare services, please contact us to find out how ACHS can assist by enquiring online or call 02 9281 9955.